Eventility Case Study – Zen Bicycle Band

Zen1Zen2Group Owner:

Paul Cheneour, of Zen Bicycle Band

 

http://www.eventility.com/cgc/summary/5286, based in Dover, UK.

Tell us a bit about yourself:

I’m a musician, a flautist and composer who trained at the Guildhall School of Music in London under Professor Rainer Schuelein. I play concert flute, piccolo, alto flute, bass flute, ney flute, siblisi, duduk and percussion. I also do boul/scat vocalisations and have wide experience exploring different musical forms from western art music and jazz to world music.

Tell us a bit about your group:

The Zen Bicycle Band is made up of myself, Dave Robinson and Clive Fletcher. We have a regular monthly residency (concert) at The Louis Armstrong in Dover plus many others ranging in size from pubs, theatres and arts centres to The Festival Hall in London.

What’s Zen Bicycle Band music like?  It’s a freeform flowing stream of connectivity between three individual players created entirely spontaneously in a manner similar to the Japanese art of calligraphy Shodo – ‘Direct Deed’ where after much meditation and with one stroke of the brush ideograms are formed. We become quite still, connect with the audience and also directly to the source of imagination and inspiration so every performance is unique to that moment of creation.

What were your challenges?

Apart from The Zen Bicycle Band, I’m also involved with other music groups (Paradise Flute and String Quartet, Paul Cheneour and Dilly Meah Sufi-Boul-Fusion, Aeona Flute Quartet, 7 Changes, & Cybajaz,).  My main challenges were:

  1. Finding a ‘diary’ function/plug-in for all my events for my website
  2. Letting more people know about my band and events so they can attend my gigs and buy my music
  3. I needed something that would be easy to use for us old persons!

What did you use before you started using Eventility?

I had my websites and used MySpace, I also used e-mail, word of mouth, and a monthly newsletter and used free listings, web sites and posters.

I found that updating them all individually on concert dates and then trying to tell people about them was time consuming and painful, so I started to look around at something that would help me organise my concerts and let people know about them. I looked at a few solutions but chose Eventility as it looked simplest and was free.

What are the top features you love about Eventility?

  1. It’s easy to use
  2. It’s free
  3. It has lots of features that I haven’t used yet but are useful for me – selling tickets for my concerts, sending out videos and music files to my group members in an update and others
  4. Great Customer Service – any queries I’ve had have been answered quickly, it’s nice to find real people to help.
  5. They help let people know about my concerts

What specific problems has Eventility addressed that other musicians/bands size might be able to relate to?

Organising effectively and efficiently I can really recommend Eventility!

We have had new people going to view our concert details on Eventility so hopefully that will translate to more people attending either soon or in the future.  We are also getting our concerts featured more on Facebook and Twitter so more people can find us, which is good news.

I am using Eventility in a basic way at the moment by using the plug-in for events, which enables me to put the diary (and update) on my redgoldmusic web page easily.  Eventility also has a lot of really useful features that I plan to start using in the future, next step for me is to upload my contact/mailing list to Eventility.

What is best tip you can pass along to anyone organising a group or event

Be as friendly as possible and just give essential clear information.

If money were no object, where would you like to hold your next Eventility event?

The Festival Hall London, we’ve played there before and love it as a venue.

Contact details:

For more information visit:

http://www.eventility.com/cgc/summary/5286 Zen Bicycle Band

http://www.redgoldmusic.com/diary.php

www.redgoldmusic.com

www.zenbicycleband.co.uk

www.arsmuse.com.mx

e-mail:  paul@redgoldmusic.com

Zen Bicycle Band have just released their latest CD, The Zen Bicycle Band ‘In Your Head’ CD NSM1095CD (Published by Northstarmusic UK). Available from www.redgoldmusic.com  £10.00 +£1.50 P/P or http://www.Justflutes.com:

Contact: Marc Arnold Tel-07721-692-909 e-mail management@zenbicycleband.co.uk

Leave a Reply

